So, I’m writing a novel.

 

I’m doing NaNoWriMo this year. I’ve tried it in years past, and got maybe about 3,000 words in before I abandoned all hope. I’m off to a good start this year, having gotten over 6,000 words in just the first two days.

Will I finish? I certainly hope to. After all, I wrote a 100,000+ words for a first draft of a novel earlier this year.

I wanted to be a writer. I suppose I still do, but at some point I gave up on that dream. In my most cynical moments, I’ve even cautioned other people that we all wake up from our dreams eventually. I was convinced I wasn’t good enough to make it; every short story I sent off was rejected (save for one that I wasn’t paid for), and every query I sent off for the (actual pretty bad) novel I wrote during and immediately after college got was equally poorly received. My low point came when I received a rejection from a literary agency that was typed out on a strip of paper. That’s right; the most crushing moment in a young author’s early career was typed out en masse and cut into strips as to help conserve our natural resources.

I always regretted giving up, and always wanted to try again. Earlier this year, I did. My wife encouraged me and stood beside me, which truly made the difference. School was cancelled for several days due to weather (this was January after all), so I made use of that time by pounding out a Western that had been swimming in my head for a long time. I finished it, and revised it, and revised it again, and then I was burned out. I had thrown myself into writing and didn’t come up for air.

I took a months-long break and got back to it. Now, I’ve done three revisions on my novel and–emboldened by my achievement–am attempting another one.

If you’d like to support me, here’s a link to my fundraising page. Please help other aspiring writers find their voice and give them a platform. That’s what matters most when it comes to writing: knowing that somebody is listening.

Leave a Reply

